Posted by: monzavenue | December 18, 2008

I Am a Call Boy!

“I am a call boy.” That’s what I tell everyone who asks me about what do I do for a living. And then, as a response from them, some would look at me from head to toe and followed by “Really? You look too decent to be one!” And then I would say, “Yeah I know! That’s why I’m getting paid more than an average call boy gets. Haha!”

Actually, I’m working at a call center. I started wayback in November 2006 at one of the pioneer call centers in Cebu. (Wow! akalain mo nga naman, umabot na pala’ko ng more than 2 years!) So how is it like being a call center boy for more than 2 years already? Well, I can’t find a single adjective that would perfectly describe my call center life so far. So let me say it’s been stressful yet fun enough to get you going. At first, it wasn’t an easy thing. I had challenges with the shifting of schedules and not to mention, speaking with Americans from different states. Imagine changing your biological clock so you could stay awake the whole night and sleep the whole day. Imagine taking a cup of coffee almost every hour to stay awake. Before my call center life, I was never a coffee fan. But anyways, my coffee addiction is a different story.

Luckily, after one whole year of taking calls, I was transferred to the e-mail team. The same support, the same products but cooler way of providing customer service. I was very glad, at least I don’t have to listen to the rants and complaints of american customers. No more hard time understanding their slang words. Haha!

But despite of the challenges of being a call center agent especially during the beginning phase, generally, I think working at a call center is still way better than being a plain encoder or plain secretary of a government official. (Hindi naman sa hinahamak ko yung mga encoders at secretary ha, sila lang talaga naisipan ko, sorry po.) Why? Because stress is in every job. It is part of every job. Well, at least call center managements provide fun and recreations to somehow help their agents cope up with stress such as Team Socials once a month and Team Buildings… and of course, not to mention, higher compensation and benefits and a lot more! Ask me, I’ll tell you.

Responses

  1. there are still a large number of Filipinos who don’t get the call center jargon callgirl/callboy. i dunno.

    well, i really am glad, way beyond words, that i somehow influenced someone to put up his own blog and share his thoughts in the blogosphere. please keep your posts coming. :P

    i just added your link. :P

    -kris

  2. thanx kris, yeah i will keep posting, however, please bear with me guys if i mess up with my grammars or spelling.. heheh.. i should have paid attention to my english instructors instead of daydreaming.

  3. this is so true! i am a call boy!

  4. hi kokoi. thanx, for the comment and for visiting. it’s nice to meet fellow call boys on the blogosphere! happy holidays!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

